www.ndfpdarts.com Profile
Plans & Programs Contact Us
Directory Forum




Top Players Converge in Davao City for 10th NDFP-sanctioned Mindanao Dart Tournament

The top ranked players of the Philippines converged in Davao City last August 18 – 20, 2006 for the 21st Kadayawan 2006 sa Dabaw P100,000 Darts Championship organized by the Karaan Davao Darters Association, Inc. (KADDAI), led by Edwin Ponce and Boy Gludo, and sanctioned by the National Dart Foundation of the Philippines (NDFP). The tournament was presented by Casino Filipino Davao and supported by the Davao City Government and Robson Sportscraft.

This is the 10th NDFP-sanctioned tournament in Mindanao this year. The continuing dart expansion in Mindanao is through the coordinated efforts of the NDFP regional managers, the strong local dart organizations and the support of the NDFP on a national level. To further strengthen the support network in Mindanao and to give additional exposure to the NDFP top players, NDFP president Tito Soncuya announced in his Opening Ceremony message that the NDFP will provide round trip tickets to the top two ranked men’s players and the top ranked female player in Mindanao to the Darterong Pinoy come November. With a few more NDFP ranking tournaments scheduled in Mindanao before the Darterong Pinoy, the race for the top slots in the NDFP player ranking in Mindanao is still wide open.

The Opening Ceremony was highlighted by the inspirational message of Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Chairman Butch Ramirez, accompanied by PSC Commissioner Richie Garcia. Gracing the formal opening were Atty Oying Melodias, in behalf of Mayor Duterte, Abet Arcega of Casino Filipino Davao and Barangay Captain Rommel delos Reyes representing the Davao darters.

Open Draw Triples
The Open Draw Triples was the first event with 147 players (49 teams). Pagcor employee Boy Villamor of Davao City teamed up with Ronald Casas of Tagum City and Eric Peñaranda of Panabo, Davao del Norte and overwhelmed the troika of Boy Chucas of Davao City, Teng Salindatu of Cotabato City and Bryan Tumulac of Tagum City to grab the championship with a score of 4-1.

Fixed-Four Person Team
The Fixed-Four Person Team event drew a total of 34 teams (136 players). The best of the best team championship saw a gallant and determined stand of Team Robson composed of Boie Parfan, Bert Lozano, Ian Perez and Aries Quijano to overcome a 3-1 deficit to beat D' Directors ARMM composed of Pabling Cadungog, Noel Anino, Jojo Barellano and Long-Long Longyapon in their down-the-wire finals encounter with a score of 4-3.

Open Draw Doubles
From a field of 134 players (67 pairs), local boys and D' Directors teammates Barellano and Anino drew each other as partners to win the Open Draw Doubles event against Dong Cachero of Kidapawan City and Rene Waje of Tagum City with a score of 4-2.

Youth Singles
The last day of the tournament began with the Free Registration Youth Singles event, an on-going NDFP program in all NDFP-sanctioned and supported tournaments. 17-year old JV Artes of Davao City fought tooth and nail against Allain Sim of Panabo, Davao del Norte and eventually bagged the event with a 4-3 score.

Women’s Singles
In the Women’s Singles event, World Cupper and Robson player Jan-Jan Hinojales of Davao City again stamped her class and beat Socodarts player Sheila May Braña of Koronadal City, 4-2. With her victory, Hinojales added 24 points to her NDFP Women’s Ranking and retained her No. 1 position. Braña picked up 16 points and retained her No. 2 slot.

Men’s Singles
World Cupper and Robson player Boie Parfan of Makati City emerged victorious in a field of 98 players in the Men’s Singles event. Showing composure and experience, Parfan nipped unheralded Pagcor employee Ruel Bentain of Davao City in their exciting finals encounter with a score of 5-4. Enroute to the finals, Parfan defeated No. 4 seed Pabling Cadungog of Cotabato City and No. 1 seed Ian Perez of Koronadal City while Bentain defeated No. 7 seed Dong Cachero of Kidapawan City, No. 2 seed Bert Lozano of Cagayan de Oro City and No. 3 seed and fellow Davaoeño Jojo Barellano. With his victory, Parfan earned an additional 40 points and jumped from the No. 6 to the No. 3 position in the NDFP Men’s Ranking. Bentain picked up 32 points, enough to land him in the No. 9 slot.

A total of 221 participants registered during the three-day event.

View Results and Pictures  
Men's Singles Top 16 Qualifiers  
Updated August 22, 2006  

Robson Spectra Dartboard - Triangular Wire Robson Cues - Distinctly Different Robson Dartboard Robson Tungsten - The Choice of Champions!
Sportshouse - All the Games you Play!   www.chrissports.net
copyright 2005 - 2007 www.ndfpdarts.com All Rights Reserved.