www.ndfpdarts.com Profile
Plans & Programs Contact Us
Directory Forum




Espiñola, Lozano Emerge Big Winners in TSADARTS 2008
By Ronnie Naponte
As the curtains closed on TSADARTS 2008: The P100,000 San Miguel Beer Dart Challenge at the Macasandig Covered Court, CDO’s very own Jun Espiñola (The One) crowned himself champion of the Open Singles event, besting Luzon’s Orlan Bernardino (Robson Razor) four legs to two in the 501 best-of seven finals. With the championship, Espinola earned the NDFP title of a Master and two more NDFP ranked major championship will land him the National Masters title. It was a fitting encore for Espiñola who also bagged the Cagayan de Oro Open Singles title a week ago. Despite a frustrating first two days of dart throwing, wherein he failed to go past the second round in the first three events, Jun E, as he is fondly called by fellow darters, gathered himself together and turned out a masterful performance leading to an impressive win after another in the single knock-out affair. Espiñola pocketed PhP15,000 plus a handsome trophy, while Bernardino received PhP7,000. Dodong Nollora (BCDC-Butuan) and Estoy “The Maestro” Densing (Copyprint-Bugo I) bagged joint third and fourth places with PhP2,000 each.

Meanwhile, Bert Lozano (Robson Razor), another CDO player and a nationally ranked NDFP player, swept through the first three events copping the trophies in the Classified Three Man, Fixed Four Man and Classified Doubles event. He almost made it into a clean sweep but fell short in the Open Singles, losing to eventual champ Espiñola in the Quarter-Finals, three legs to two in a classic thriller.

On the first day of the event, organized by The Dartfathers and sponsored by San Miguel Beer, Lozano teamed up with Eric Waban (The Dartfathers) and Popoy Lanilao (DFK-Dart Federation of Kotabato) defeating the team of Jonathan Llagas (Westbound-CDO I), Rey Tobias (AgNor I) and Lloyd Cuarteros (Iligan) in the thrilling finals four legs to three. The team of Llagas, Tobias and Cuarteros failed to capitalize in their turn to end the game, affording Lozano the honor of clinching the crown with a one pin double top. The champions shared the PhP9,300 cash prize and received a trophy each, while the second placers got PhP4,500. Rounding out the top four getting PhP2,100 were the team of Ian Perez (Robson Razor), Ronnie Napone (The Dartfathers) and Joe Apale (CDO-Carmen) and the trio of Paolo Viola (Fern-C), Michael Bucio (Copyprint-Bugo II) and Zaldy Cabiling (Iligan).

The second day started with the Fixed Four Man Team event, and the Robson Razor team steamrolled their way to the championship bagging the PhP16,000 prize. Top-seeded Ian Perez, the National Darts Federation of the Philippines (NDFP) no. 1 player, second seed Jojo Barellano, third-seeded Orlan Bernardino and Bert Lozano, seeded 6th, displayed impeccable dart throwing en route to the championship. They only got a scare in the quarterfinals against the Copyprint-Bugo I Team composed of CDO’s rated players in Henry Rivera, Estoy Densing, Allan Suminguin and Nick Paderes, surviving a three-legs-to-two cliffhanger with a 160 check-out from Perez, and a 107 game-winning check-out from Lozano. In the finals, Robson Razor swept the upstarts The Dartfathers, composed of Jong Cabeguin, Jinggo Bantigue, Eric Waban and Mike Jude Monforte. The Dartfathers had their chances in the first leg of the finals, but withered under the heavy torrent of Robson Razor’s firepower. They received PhP 8,000 as runner-ups.

Lozano teamed up with Bobot Quiñones (Bugo Darts) to win the Classified Doubles event besting Barellano and Allan Medroso (The One).

TSADARTS 2008 is a National Dart Federation of the Philippines’ Ranking Event. Top 16 players receive corresponding points accumulated through participation in other NDFP sanctioned tournaments. Organized by The Dartfathers, TSADARTS 2008 was also ably supported by Robson Sportscraft’s Spectra dartboards and the tournament trophies, Simplex Industrial Corporation, ABBOTT, Macasandig Barangay Council, EcoFront Balloons, Toys and Party Needs, Duaw Grill & Dart Haus, Cagayan de Oro City Council, Mr. Ferdinand Gamila and Dr. Flaviano Caballero, M.D. (-Peter P)

View Complete Results and Pictures  
Updated Sept. 17, 2008  

Robson Spectra Dartboard - Triangular Wire Robson Cues - Distinctly Different Robson Dartboard Robson Tungsten - The Choice of Champions!
Sportshouse - All the Games you Play!   www.chrissports.net
copyright 2005 - 2007 www.ndfpdarts.com All Rights Reserved.