www.ndfpdarts.com Profile
Plans & Programs Contact Us
Directory Forum



Top Darters Reunite in Primera Luz Filipina
Dart Invitationals
Click Thumbnail to Enlarge

For the first time in more than a year, Metro Manila’s top darters met in the Open Singles Championship of the P30,000 Primera Luz Filipina Dart Invitationals held last Saturday, January 28, 2006 at Common Room Bar and Café in Marikina City. It was a happy reunion of Metro Manila darters because everybody was welcomed to join. The tournament was organized by the Primera Luz Filipina Mason Lodge No. 69 headed by Worshipful Master Rox Malabanan and Organizing Committee chairperson Sundy Fernandez together with VJ Padilla and Bogs Asuncion with the support of Robson Sportscraft and the National Dart Foundation of the Philippines (NDFP) headed by Tito Soncuya.

In his welcome speech, Sundy Fernandez thanked the darters who came from all over Metro Manila and added, “Hindi ba mas masarap maglaro na magkakasama ulit tayong lahat? Nandito naman tayo dahil gusto nating maglaro ng darts at mahal natin ang darts. Sana ganito palagi!”

Toto Andrade (Snipers - Pier One) beat Ding Sumulong (Terton) in the Open Singles Championship with a score of 5-3. Rounding up the top eight are Joint 3rd/4th of Boie Parfan (Robson) and Rey Sevillo (Cavite) while Joint 5th to 8th were Dixie Ybañez (Cagayan de Oro City) Bobby Concepcion (Terton), Ricky Santiago (Amber) and Orlan Bernardino (United Darters of Taytay).

The Classified Draw Doubles registered a total of one hundred twenty-six (126) players. The sixty-three (63) drawn partners, as expected, were even and balanced courtesy of the transparent and professional tournament staff of Rommel Escubil and Ritchie Gannaban.

The tandem of Ricky Santiago (Amber) and Toto Martirez (Novales Dart Club) won the doubles championship over Rex Jimenez (Daungan Dart Club) and Willy Bariuan (Snipers - Pier One) in an exciting decision match in their best of three encounter. Noel Malicdem (Robson) and Jojo Nachor (United Darters of Taytay) won 3rd place and 4th place went to Dexter Vasquez (Marikina City Dart Organization) and Bobby Concepcion (Terton).

Adding more fun to the tournament, Kagawad Omeng Dumlao of Knights of Darters of Tañong, Marikina City raffled off free entry fee stubs and free beer to eight (8) lucky participants for their P10,000 Classified Draw Doubles Thanksgiving Tournament scheduled on February 4, 2006. (See Related Story)

The complete results are as follows:

Open Singles
  Champion:   Toto Andrade (Snipers - Pier One)
  2nd Place:   Ding Sumulong (Terton Craft)
  Joint 3rd:   Boie Parfan (Robson)
Rey Sevillo (Cavite)
  Joint 5th:   Orlan Bernardino (UDT)
Bobby Concepcion (Terton Craft)
Ricky Santiago (Amber)
Dixie Ybañez (Cagayan de Oro City)

Classified Draw Doubles
  Champion:   Toto Martirez (Novales Dart Club) &
Ricky Santiago (Amber)
  2nd Place:   Willy Bariuan (Snipers - Pier One) &
Rex Jimenez (Daungan Dart Club)
  3rd Place:   Noel Malicdem (Robson) &
Jojo Nachor (UDT)
  4th Place:   Bobby Concepcion (Terton Craft) &
Dexter Vasquez (MCDO - Malanday)
  Joint 5th:   Larry dela Cruz (Pasig City) &
Ernie Guizon (Pasig City)
      Gil Naverra (Manila) &
Ching Saez (Terton Craft)
  Joint 7th:   Teddy Morente (MCDO - Calumpang) &
Sonny Viray (Pasig City)
      Louie Manalaysay (Parañaque City) &
Martin Pagulayan (Novales Dart Club)

Worshipful Master Rox Malabanan of Primera Luz Filipina promises an even bigger tournament for next year.

At the end of the day, after reuniting with fellow darters, everyone went home a winner.

Open Singles - Champion Open Singles - 2nd Place
Open Singles - Top 4 Open Singles - Joint 5th
Classified Draw Doubles - Champion Classified Draw Doubles -  2nd Place
Classified Draw Doubles -  3rd Place Classified Draw Doubles -  4th Place
Rox Malabanan The Organizers
Tournament Officers Sundy Fernandez
Masons Enjoying the Game  
Game Time VJ Padilla w/ Tournament Officials  
The Venue - Common Room Watching the Game  
Tournament Proper Tournament Proper  
Participants Participants  
Participants Participants  
Participants Participants  
Participants Participants  
    Updated January 30, 2006  

Robson Spectra Dartboard - Triangular Wire Robson Cues - Distinctly Different Robson Dartboard Robson Tungsten - The Choice of Champions!
Sportshouse - All the Games you Play!   www.chrissports.net
copyright 2005 - 2007 www.ndfpdarts.com All Rights Reserved.