www.ndfpdarts.com Profile
Plans & Programs Contact Us
Directory Forum

MCDO Bags Over-All Championship in 1st Inter-City Invitational Dart Championship View Results and Pictures

The Marikina City Dart Organization (MCDO) bagged the coveted Over-All Championship of the 1st Inter-City Invitational Dart Championship organized by the National Dart Foundation of the Philippines (NDFP) held last May 13, 2006 at the Common Room Sports Bar in Marikina City.

Invited to the championship are established local dart organizations: United Darters of Taytay (UDT) lead by President Glenn San Juan and Orlan Bernardino, Angono Rizal Dart Association (ARDA) headed by President Jimmy Tolentino and supported by Erning Zapanta, Marikina City Dart Organization (MCDO) chaired by Omeng Dumlao and Dexter Vasquez and Makati City Darts Association (MCDA) spearheaded by Bonie Evangelista and Bert Pineda.

Participants of the 1st Inter-City Invitational Dart Championship

The Inter-City Dart Championship is in line with the vision of the NDFP to propagate and expand darts through the local dart organizations (LDO) and to build regional support networks of the local dart organizations. This undertaking hopes to promote camaraderie among dart organizations, to spur other cities / municipalities to form their respective local dart organizations and to gain the support of local government units for their respective local dart organizations.

It is therefore not surprising that the 1st Inter-City Invitational Dart Championship unraveled new talents that came from the rigorous elimination phases and training of UDT, ARDA and MCDO to determine player representation.

Team UDT   Team ARDA
Team UDT
Team MCDO   Team MCDA
Team MCDO   Team MCDA

In the Open Singles event, MCDO’s Boie Parfan fought an exciting down-to-the-wire finals match, 4-3, over unknown Nelboy Bernabe of ARDA. The match saw exchanges of T80’s, T40’s and 13, 14, 15 darts outs. In the decision leg, Parfan won the toss coin and threw a 140 opener followed by 100 and eventually finished with 14 darts to emerge the Open Singles champion.

In the Fixed Doubles event, all four cities were represented in the semi-final round after some unexpected results in the group elimination. Unknown Marikina players Tameng Gica and Sam Manalo won in Group A against a strong group composed of Nelboy Bernabe and Emil Manga of ARDA, Richard Callejo and Gilbert Noble of MCDA and Orlan and Jay Bernardino of UDT. The Marikina players continued to the finals beating Group B winners Jay-Ar San Juan and Jojo Nachor of UDT. In Group C, upcoming ARDA players Ging Castillo and Edwin Zapanta won over the strong tandem of Parfan and Noel Malicdem and UDT’s George Jacinto and Erwin Medina. In the semis, the Angono players beat Group D winners Pong Saez and June Reyes of MCDA, and prevailed over MCDO’s Gica and Manalo, 3-1 in the Doubles Championship.

In the Four-Man Team event, UDT-A composed of Orlan Bernardino, Jay Bernardino, George Jacinto and Erwin Medina topped Group A and won a cross-over match with Group B runner-up UDT-B composed of Jay-Ar San Juan, Ram Argoncillo, Virdi Guevarra and Ronaldo Reyes with a semi-final score of 2-0. Group B runner-up, MCDO-A of Erning Bantoy and new players Rolly Agudal, Arnold Garcia and David Mumar, showing grit, composure and determination, edged twice-to-beat Group B winners ARDA-B of Edwin Zapanta, Nelboy Bernabe, Ging Castillo and Emil Manga with a score of 2-1 in the first match and won the single leg of the second match to barge into the finals. However, MCDO-A’s semi-final performance proved to be too much for the team as they were overpowered by UDT-A with a score of 3-0 in their finals match. UDT-A won the team event championship without dropping a single leg.

After the final tally of points, MCDO came in first with 149 points to bag the Overall Championship. Angono Rizal Darters Association (ARDA) came in a surprise second with 122 points followed closely by United Darters of Taytay (UDT) with 114 points. Bringing in the rear was Makati City Darts Organization (MCDO) with 38 points. The powerhouse team of Makati City composed of Gilbert Noble, Richard Callejo, June Reyes, Bonie Evangelista, Pong Saez and Jun Pagdato were no match to the well prepared and highly motivated teams from MCDO, ARDA and UDT.

A sidelight of the 1st Inter-City Invitational Dart Championship were the exhibition matches of the youth players divided into two age brackets of 14 years old and below and the 15 years old to 18 years old. The youth exhibition matches are part of the continuing commitment to the nationwide youth support and development programs of the NDFP.

Team UDT (14 years old and below)   Team UDT (15 to 18 years old)
Team UDT (14 years old and below)
Team UDT (15 to 18 years old)
TEAM ACDC (14 years old and below)   Team ACDC (15 to 18 years old)
Team ACDC (14 years old and below)   Team ACDC (15 to 18 years old)

The youth exhibition matches is a marvel to watch. It is a spectacle in its own right, inspiring and motivating, flowing with youthful innocence and exuberance, a model and new beginning to the image of darts.

The next Inter-City Invitational will definitely include youth representation not only from ACDC and UDT but from various dart organizations.

Special recognition is given to Ritchie Gannaban, NDFP National Coordinator, Rommel Escubil, NDFP Tournament Director and Tito Soncuya, NDFP President, not only for the success of the Inter-City Invitational, but for the vision of the evolving relevance and strength of the local dart organizations.

Special mention to Edward Pascual of the Angalo Circuit Dart Club (ACDC) for his unselfish dedication to the youth darters of Tondo and to Orlan Bernardino, assisted by Nover Tolentino, of UDT for the integration of the youth to the dart development programs of Taytay.

Everybody is looking forward to the 2nd Inter-City Invitational Dart Championship tentatively set for the 4th quarter of the year. Darters from Manila, Quezon City, Caloocan-Malabon-Navotas, Parañaque and Cavite have expressed their interest in participating in the next inter-city championship and are now in the process of organizing their local dart organizations and to hopefully integrate in the regional support network of the NDFP.



View Results and Pictures  
Open Singles Top 16 Qualifiers  

Updated May 16, 2006


Robson Spectra Dartboard - Triangular Wire Robson Cues - Distinctly Different Robson Dartboard Robson Tungsten - The Choice of Champions!
Sportshouse - All the Games you Play!   www.chrissports.net
copyright 2005 - 2007 www.ndfpdarts.com All Rights Reserved.